PFA Announce divisional teams of the year

Last updated : 25 April 2005 By Smallsy
Players from table topping Luton dominated the Football League team of the year announced at the awards dinner last night.

The confirmed champions posess six players who were named in the team along side, Hull's Stuart Elliott, Bristol's Leroy Lita, Walsall's Paul Merson, Tranmere's Ryan Taylor and Bournmouth's Wayne Cummings.

The suprise exclusion from Brentford was Sam Sodje who has been named in the PFA's team of the week on numerous occasions this season, the recent drop off in Bees for is probably the main reason he was not picked. Brentford however were commended at the ceremony by PFA Chairman Gordon Taylor along with Hull, Luton and other top league one sides for making the division so exciting this season he said,

"The standard of football this season in league one has been excellent, so many teams were in contention for the top places. It's been good to have a mix of squads fighting for a place in the championship, from the prestiege clubs like Hull and Sheffield Wednesday to the Brentford's and Bournmouth's were are looking to make a name for themselves, it's been excellent entertainment this season"